| Return to Index |
| Bibliographic Units and Other Categories | Diagrams of Sample Pathfinders |
| 1. Library's Logo | Diagram 1 |
| 2. Library's Main Navigation Bar | Diagram 2 |
| 3. Title: A Research Guide | |
| 4. Table of Contents | |
| 5. Introduction | |
| 6. Print a Printer-Friendly Page | |
| 7. Local Information | |
| 8. Research Materials | |
| 9. Copyright Notice and Date Created or Revised | |
| 10. URL for the Pathfinder |
|
A list of bibliographic categories can assist librarians in the preparation of creating pathfinders. Inclusion of each category is dependent on the topic and type of library so all units listed below may not be used in one pathfinder. The list below is not intended to represent how the items will appear on a Web page, but to provide a librarian with guidance for gathering resources. See the two sample pathfinder templates for suggested placement of each category. 1. Library's LogoPlace the library's logo in the upper left corner of the page. The logo should link back to the library's homepage. 2. Library's Main Navigation BarPlace the library's main navigation bar on the pathfinder so that visitors can link back to other parts of the library's Web site. Web users should have a clear notion of where they are in the site. The navigation bar will help them to move back to the library catalog or to other parts of the Web site. Main navigation bars are typically placed on top of the page or on the left-hand side. 3. Title: A Research GuidePlace the topic title prominently at the top of the page. A subtitle may be added to provide further description of the document's function. 4. Table of ContentsA table of contents or navigation bar should be placed on the top of the page so that users can link from each bibliographic category to its location further down on the page. 5. IntroductionIn about 34 sentences, provide a brief explanation of the topic and specific highlights as they relate to the topic. 6. Print a Printer-Friendly PageLibraries that use many graphics on their pathfinders may want to offer the option of printing a graphics-free pathfinder. A graphical button or text indicates the availability of a printer-friendly page. 7. Local InformationThe most valuable pathfinders are the ones that include local information. Libraries can segment this type of information to one area (as done in this book) or include it within other categories. Programs and Events List library events such as tax preparation services or genealogy classes when relevant to a topic. Local Agencies and Organizations List contact information and descriptions of local agencies that may be of interest to users of this pathfinder. Local Resources Post local services or publications related to the topic. Course Pages or Academic Departments List course pages that relate to the topic of the pathfinder. In many cases teachers or professors have constructed accompanying Web pages for their classes. Additionally, academic departments usually have a Web page detailing their program and classes. Related Pathfinders Use this opportunity to market other pathfinders that may be useful to your visitors. 8. Research Materials (Books, videos, DVDs, CDs, etc.)Create links to circulating materials in the library catalog. Customers may find it useful if you provide links to various formats of books such as audio books, documentary films, or music selections. Include cover art if possible. Hypertext links can take your users directly to the materials in the catalog, where they can place holds or requests on the items. Encyclopedias and Dictionaries List general and subject-specific materials that provide an overview of the topic. Handbooks and Manuals Include any related materials that instruct or guide the researcher. Directories and Sourcebooks Include subscription and free Web-based directories (such as Reference USA and local chamber of commerce business directories) or books that provide referral information for organizations, products, and companies. Electronic Journals Libraries may subscribe to individual electronic journals or may have access to them through aggregated subscription databases. A link to the journal title normally displays a table of contents users can select a particular date or search by keyword, title, author, and subject. Magazines and Newspapers Some of the major vendors allow deep linking to full-text articles or to journal and magazine table of contents. The vendor can work with libraries to solve access problems related to patron authentication. Online Databases List links to relevant databases with descriptions that are specific to each topic. For example, in your employment pathfinders, explain how visitors can use a business directory to locate potential employers. E-books Use cover art and annotations to display related e-books. Web Sites Select Web sites that meet collection development criteria. Create embedded links within the title of the Web site. Some libraries may choose to display the full Web site address; however, lengthy addresses can be cumbersome to display. Associations List associations, their contact information and links to their Web sites. Primary Sources Information that provides first-hand account or original data such as journal entries, newspaper articles, interviews, and government document. Biographies List any books detailing the life of an individual or list collective biographies such as Asian-American Authors, by Kathy Ishizuka. Bibliographies offer researchers suggestions for further materials once they have exhausted those available on the pathfinder. Bibliographies can be found in the library catalog, other catalogs, or even on the Web. Statistics List here books or Web sites that offer statistics on the subject. For example, if the topic is the library's home state of Texas, a link to State and County QuickFacts at the U.S. Department of Census site brings researchers directly to a page that offers statistics about Texas (http://quickfacts.census.gov/qfd/states/48000.html). Preprints A preprint is anything that appears before the official printing-often a scientific article that will later appear in a journal. Preprints are normally peer reviewed and scientific and technical in nature. Indexes and Abstracts An index is a finding aid that provides access to a field's publications arranged by author, subject, title, and other categories. An example is Library Literature, Biography Index. AbstractsÑobjective summaries of publicationsÑmay be included. Citation Styles Libraries can include a brief listing of the more popular citation styles or more detailed information on the one most preferred by the affiliated school. Here is an example of how this information can be displayed: The Chicago Manual of Style. 15th ed. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2003. An essential reference for authors, editors, proofreaders, indexers, copywriters, designers, and publishers in any field, it covers publishing formats, editorial style and method, documentation of electronic sources, and book design and production. A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, 6th ed. by Kate L. Turabian. Revised by John Grossman and Alice Bennett. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1996. B. Honigsblum's revised and expanded version of Kate Turabian's standard guide for student writers. Fourteen chapters cover how to put a paper together, from introductory chapters to the bibliography. MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 6th ed. by Joseph Gibaldi. New York: Modern Language Association, 2003. The MLA Handbook covers all aspects of research writing, from selecting a topic to submitting the completed paper. Aimed at high school and undergraduate students. MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, 2nd ed. by Joseph Gibaldi. New York: Modern Language Association, 1998. The standard guide for graduate students, teachers, and scholars. Includes citation and stylistic conventions in the preparation of manuscripts, theses, and dissertations. Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 5th ed. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association, 2001. Provides guidance on grammar and a reference and citation system and how to accurately publish numbers, metrication, statistical and mathematical data, tables, and figures for use in writing, reports, or presentations. Frequently Asked Questions Some pathfinders, in addition to listing resources, may list frequently asked questions about certain topics. For example, some of the frequently asked questions of a patron starting a business may include the following: How do I write a business plan? Where can I get money for my business? How do I register my business? Subject Headings and Keywords Libraries may display and link to Library of Congress Subject Headings, Dewey classifications, or Sears List of Subject Headings. Insert appropriate subject headings and keywords that, when clicked, generate a search in the library catalog. These links are especially useful because they produce dynamic results as material is continually added to the library catalog. Explore the functionality of the library's Web catalog. For example, some library catalogs allow current awareness or selective dissemination of information (SDI) services so that customers can run an automated search at a frequency they specify. Call Numbers to Browse Offering call number ranges can help direct customers to the right section of the library. Depending on the topic, inclusion of call numbers may either help or hinder in locating the items. For example, libraries within a multi-branch system may have different locations for the item, making it difficult to locate without viewing the detailed holdings. 9. Copyright Notice and Date Created or RevisedThe copyright notice gives credibility and states ownership. The date will show users its currency. 10. URL for the PathfinderIncluding the URL of the pathfinders is important so that when a visitor prints out the pathfinder, the Web address will appear on the printed copy.
Adapted from Wilson, Paula. 2002. "Perfecting Pathfinders for the Web." Public Libraries 41, no. 2 (March/April): 99100.
|
| 1 Library's Logo |
2 Library's Main Navigation Bar |
|
| 3 Title: A Research Guide |
||
| 4 Table of Contents |
||
| 5 Introduction |
6 Printer-Friendly Version |
|
| 7 Programs/Events |
8 Books, videos, DVDs, CDs, etc. Encyclopedias and Dictionaries Handbooks and Manuals Directories and Sourcebooks Electronic Journals Magazine and Newspaper Articles Online Databases E-books Web Sites Associations Primary Sources Biographies Statistics Preprints Indexes and Abstracts Bibliographies Citation Styles Frequently Asked Questions Subject Headings and Keywords Call Numbers to Browse |
|
| Local Agencies and Organizations | ||
| Local Resources | ||
| Course Pages or Academic Departments | ||
| Related Pathfinders | ||
| 9 Copyright 2005. Unum Library. Revised May 1, 2005. |
||
| 10 www.unumlibrary.org/pathfinders/template.htm |
||
| 1 Library's Logo |
2 Library's Main Navigation Bar |
|
| 3 Title: A Research Guide |
||
| 4 Table of Contents |
||
| 5 Introduction |
6 Printer-Friendly Version |
|
| 8 Books, videos, DVDs, CDs, etc. Encyclopedias and Dictionaries Handbooks and Manuals Directories and Sourcebooks Electronic Journals Magazine and Newspaper Articles Online Databases E-books Web Sites Associations Primary Sources Biographies Statistics Preprints Indexes and Abstracts Bibliographies Citation Styles Frequently Asked Questions Subject Headings and Keywords Call Numbers to Browse 7 Programs/Events Local Agencies and Organizations Local Resources Course Pages or Academic Departments Related Pathfinders |
||
| 9 Copyright 2005. Unum Library. Revised May 1, 2005. |
||
| 10 www.unumlibrary.org/pathfinders/template.htm |
||