World History: A Research Guide |
||
History scholars piece together the past by uncovering information through a variety of sources, some obscure and others standard. This guide introduces researchers to some of the basic informational sources on the topic. The terms and phrases listed in the subject headings below can be used to search for more materials in the library's catalog and research databases. If you need further assistance, please ask a librarian |
||
| BOOKS | JOURNALS | LOCAL RESOURCES | WEB SITES | SUBJECT HEADINGS | RELATED RESEARCH GUIDES | ||
| top | The American Historical Association's Guide to Historical Literature, 3rd ed. edited by Mary Beth Norton and Pamela Gerardi. 2 vols. New York: Oxford University Press, 1995. ISBN: 0195057279. Chronology of World History: A Calendar of Principal Events from 3000 B.C. to A.D. 1976, 2nd ed. edited by Greville Stewart Parker Freeman-Grenville. London: Rex Collins, 1978. ISBN: 0901720674. Dictionary of Concepts in History edited by Harry Ritter. Westport, CT : Greenwood Press, 1986. ISBN: 0313227004. A Dictionary of Nineteenth-Century World History edited by John Belchem and Richard Price. Cambridge, MA : Blackwell, 1994. ISBN: 0631183523. The Encyclopedia of World History: Ancient, Medieval, and Modern, Chronologically Arranged, 6th ed. edited by Peter N. Stearns and William L. Langer. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 2001. ISBN: 0395652375. Everyman's Dictionary of Dates, 7th ed. (revised) edited by Audrey Butler. London : J. M. Dent & Sons, 1987. ISBN: 0460029053. Historical Journals: A Handbook for Writers and Reviewers, 2nd ed. edited by Dale R. Steiner and Casey R. Phillips. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1993. ISBN: 0899508014. Historical Periodicals Directory edited by Eric H. Boehm, Barbara H. Pope, and Marie Ensign. 5 vols. Santa Barbara, CA : ABC-CLIO, 1981–1986. ISBN: 0874360188. The Modern Researcher, 6th ed. edited by Jacques Barzun and Henry F. Graff. Belmont, CA: Thomson/Wadsworth, 1992. ISBN: 0155055291. Reference Sources in History: An Introductory Guide, 2nd ed. by Ronald H. Fritze, Brian E. Coutts, and Louis Andrew Vyhnanek. Santa Barbara, CA : ABC-CLIO, 2004. ISBN: 874368839. Sources of Information for Historical Research edited by Thomas P. Slavens. New York: Neal-Schuman, 1994. ISBN: 1555700934. Women in World History: A Biographical Encyclopedia. 15 vols. Anne Commire and Deborah Klezmer. Detroit: Gale Group, 1999– . ISBN: 07863736X. |
|
| top | American Historical Review |
|
| top |
|
|
HistoryWorld WebChronology Project Women in World History |
||
| top | Tips for constructing subject searches: Include keywords that indicate the time period, geographic period and the type of information sought (i.e., encyclopedias, dictionaries). civilization—history—encyclopedias history—outlines, syllabi, etc. history, modern—19th century history, modern—20th century military history, modern—20th century revolutions—history—20th century |
|
| top |
|
|
last updated: http://www. |
||