Women's Studies: A Research Guide


Whether studying current issues in women's studies or historical biographies and how women from the past impact our lives today, researchers will find a great deal of information in the materials listed below. Students and researchers can start their research here and use terms and phrases listed in the subject headings below to search for more materials in the library's catalog and research databases. If you need further assistance, please ask a librarian.


BIOGRAPHICAL SOURCES | ENCYCLOPEDIAS | LOCAL RESOURCES | STATISTICAL RESOURCES | SUBJECT HEADINGS | RELATED RESEARCH GUIDES
BIOGRAPHICAL SOURCES
top

Notable American Women, 1607–1950: A Biographical Dictionary edited by Edward T. James, Janet Wilson James, and Paul S. Boyer. Cambridge, MA : Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 1971. ISBN: 0674627318.
Provides biographies of notable women from abolitionists to welfare work leaders, wives of the presidents, and women's club leaders Prepared under the auspices of Radcliffe College.

Notable Black American Women by Jessie Carney Smith and Shirelle Phelps. 3 vols. Detroit: Gale Research, 1992–2003. ISBN for vol. 1: 0810347490; ISBN for vol. 2: 0810391775; ISBN for vol. 3: 0787664944.
Narrative biographical essays discuss each woman's significant achievements. Includes over 700 entries.

Notable Hispanic American Women edited by Diane Telgen and Jim Kamp. Detroit: Gale Research, 1993. ISBN: 0810375788; 1998, ISBN: 0787620688.
Provides informative profiles of more than 500 Hispanic-American women and includes personal, career, and educational information and discuss significant achievements.

Who's Who of American Women. Chicago : Marquis Who's Who, 1971– . Biennial. ISSN: 00839841. (1959–1965, ISSN: 02702940).
Over 33,000 entries of women professional credentials of women chosen because of their professional accomplishments, including local and federal elected and appointed officials, educators, recipients of awards, and more.

Women in World History: A Biographical Encyclopedia by Anne Commire and Deborah Klezmer. 17 vols. Waterford, CT : York, 1999–2002. ISBN: 078763736X.
More than 2,500 signed articles written by academics, up to 5,000 words in length of women from many nations both living and dead. Articles vary in length according to the subject because in some cases only birth, marriage, children, and death dates are known.

ENCYCLOPEDIAS
top

Encyclopedia of Women's History in America, 2nd ed. by Kathryn Cullen-DuPont. New York: Facts On File, 2000. ISBN: 0816041008.
Includes 500 entries that highlight prominent women and how they contributed to society throughout history.

Handbook of American Women's History by Angela Howard and Frances M. Kavenik. New York: Garland, 1990. ISBN: 0824087445.
Articles on important people, events, and ideas that have shaped the history of women in the United States .

Women's Issues edited by Robin Brown. New York: H. W. Wilson, 1993. ISBN: 0824208447.
Covers topics like women in the workplace, sexual harassment, work and family, and politics.

Women's Studies Encyclopedia edited by Helen Tierney. 3 vols. New York: Greenwood Press, 1989–1991. ISBN: 0313246467.
Signed articles from each volume include: vol. 1. Views from the Sciences; vol. 2. Literature, Arts, and Learning; vol. 3. History, Philosophy, and Religion.

LOCAL RESOURCES
top

 

 

 

STATISTICAL RESOURCES

top

Statistical Abstract of the United States. Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1878– . ISSN: 00814741. Available on the Internet at www.census.gov/statab/www/. Online 1995–present.
As the National Data Book, it contains a collection of statistics from abortions, age, death, and birth rate to volunteers, voter registration, and turnout.

Statistical Handbook on Women in America, 2nd ed. edited by Cynthia Murray Taeuber. Phoenix : Oryx Press, ISBN: 1573560057.
Statistical record of women worldwide.

SUBJECT HEADINGS
top African American women—biography
blacks—biography
blacks—United States—biography
feminism—encyclopedias
Hispanic-American women—biography—dictionaries
women—biography
women—encyclopedias
women—United States—biography—dictionaries
women—United States—encyclopedias
women political activists—encyclopedias
women social reformers—encyclopedias
women’s rights—encyclopedias
RELATED RESEARCH GUIDES
top

 

 

 



last updated:
http://www.