Winter Olympics: A Research Guide


The materials listed below will entertain and inform you about the Winter Olympics. With a history that can be traced back to ancient Greece, this topic is both interesting and exciting. Since 1994, the winter games have been held in even-numbered years in which the summer games are not contested. Olympian athletes dream of winning medals while representing their country and viewers cheer them on in excitement. Some of the winter sports include ice hockey, curling, bobsledding, luge, skeleton, skiing, snowboarding, and skating events. Additional information can be found on Olympians by searching their name in the library catalog or your favorite search engine. You can also search for magazine and newspaper articles. If you need further assistance, please ask a librarian.


BOOKS | LOCAL RESOURCES | WEB SITES | OLYMPIC HISTORY | SUBJECT HEADINGS | RELATED RESEARCH GUIDES
BOOKS
top

The Encyclopedia of the Winter Olympics by John F. Wukovits. New York: F. Watts, 2001. ISBN: 0531118851.
Covers the history, origin of each sport, equipment design, and its bearing on performance.

The Olympic Winter Games by Caroline Arnold. New York: F. Watts, 1991. ISBN: 0531200531.
A brief history of the winter Olympic games, with descriptions of individual events and profiles of several past champions.

The Winter Olympics by Larry Dane Brimner. New York: Children's Press, 1997. ISBN: 0516204564.
Beginning with the Nordic Games in 1908, this book covers some of the sports involved, including skiing, ice hockey, skating, and bobsledding.

The Winter Olympics by Jack C. Harris. Mankato, MN : Creative Education, 1990. ISBN: 088682317X.
Discusses the history of the Winter Olympics, the events, and outstanding athletes over the years.

LOCAL RESOURCES
top

 

 

 

WEB SITES

top

International Olympic Committee
www.olympic.org
Official site of the International Olympic Committee (IOC).

Salt Lake City 2002
www.saltlake2002.com
Official site of the Salt Lake City 2002 Winter Olympics. Site includes event and athlete information.

Torino, Italy 2006
www.torino2006.it/eng/index.asp
Official site of the XX Olympic Games in Torino, Italy 2006. Information about the torch route through Indianapolis including a map of the route and information about local torchbearers.

United States Olympic Committee
www.olympic-usa.org
United States Committee that organizes and promotes the games for team USA .

United States Olympic Team
www.usolympicteam.com
Biographies of current and past athletes of the Olympics.

OLYMPIC HISTORY
top

Coubertin's Olympics: How the Games Began by Davida Kristy. Minneapolis: Lerner, 1995. ISBN: 0822533278.
Traces the history of modern day Olympics back to Pierre de Coubertin (1863–1937).

History of Olympic Mascots
www.collectors.olympic.org/e/fimo/fimo_mascots_e.html
Everything you every wanted to know about Olympic mascots, from “Schuss,” the first unofficial Olympic Mascot in Grenoble in 1968 and “Waldi the Dachshund,” the first official mascot in Munich in 1972, to the present day.

The Nazi Olympics: Berlin 1936 by Susan D. Bachrach. Boston: Little, Brown, 2000. ISBN: 0316070866.
Recounts the story of the Olympics held in Berlin in 1936.

The Olympic Festival in Antiquity
http://sunsite.icm.edu.pl/olympics/classical/intro.html
Learn about the people, places, rules, and games of the Ancient Olympics.

Olympic Museum
www.museum.olympic.org
Learn about Coubertin and Olympic History, explore a library of Olympic images and sounds, and museum exhibits.

Perseus Project: The Olympic Games
www.perseus.tufts.edu/Olympics/
Compare ancient and modern Olympic sports, tour the site of Olympia as it looks today, and learn about the ancient Olympics.

The Story of the Olympics by Dave Anderson. New York: W. Morrow, 1996. ISBN: 0688129544.
History of the Olympics back to 776 B.C. Includes stories of particular events such as track and field, gymnastics, and speed skating.

SUBJECT HEADINGS
top athletes—biography—juvenile literature
Olympics—encyclopedias
Olympics—history
Olympics—history—juvenile literature
Olympics—juvenile literature
Winter Olympics—encyclopedias
Winter Olympics—encyclopedias—juvenile literature
Winter Olympics—history
Winter Olympics—history—juvenile literature
RELATED RESEARCH GUIDES
top

 

 

 



last updated:
http://www.