Geography: A Research Guide |
||
Geography describes and analyzes the spatial variations in physical, biological, and human phenomena that occur on the surface. It is the scientific study of the Earth's surface. The resources listed below provide students and researchers with the basic introductory material in the field. If you need assistance in locating books that the library does not own the librarian can help you find it at another library. The terms and phrases listed in the subject headings below can be used to search for more materials in the library's catalog and research databases. If you need further assistance, please ask a librarian. |
||
| BOOKS | LOCAL RESOURCES | WEB SITES | ORGANIZATIONS | SUBJECT HEADINGS | RELATED RESEARCH GUIDES | ||
| top | Biographical Dictionary of Geography by Robert P. Larkin and Gary L. Peters. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1993. ISBN: 0313276226. The Columbia Gazetteer of the World by Saul B. Cohen. New York: Columbia University Press, 1998. ISBN: 0231110405. Dictionary of Physical Geography by David S. G. Thomas and Andrew Goudie. Malden, MA: Blackwell, 2000. ISBN: 0631204725. Merriam-Webster's Geographical Dictionary. Springfield, MA: Merriam-Webster, 1997. ISBN: 0877795460. Oxford Dictionary of the World by David M. Munro. New York: Oxford University Press, 1995. ISBN: 0198661843. Modern Dictionary of Geography by Ronald J. Small, Simon R.J. Ross, and Michael E. Witherick. New York: Arnold; Oxford University Press, 2001. ISBN: 034080713X. |
|
| top |
|
|
CIA World Factbook GEOnet Names Server (GNS) National Geographic Maps and Geography Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection, University of Texas at Austin Library USGS Geography Information |
||
| top | The American Geographical Society (AGS) Association of American Geographers (AAG) National Geographic Online Pan American Institute of Geography and History (PAIGH) |
|
| top | geography geography—dictionaries and encyclopedias geography—guidebooks physical geography |
|
| top |
|
|
last updated: http://www. |
||