Gay and Lesbian Studies : A Research Guide


Materials listed below will assist the beginning researcher in locating information that helps provide background information on many aspects of social, political, cultural, psychological, and historical aspects of issues affecting gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender people. The subject headings listing at the end of this guide can be searched in the library catalog in order to locate more information on the topic.


REFERENCE BOOKS | JOURNAL TITLES | LOCAL RESOURCES | WEB SITES | SUBJECT HEADINGS | RELATED RESEARCH GUIDES
REFERENCE BOOKS
top

Completely Queer: The Gay and Lesbian Encyclopedia by Steve Hogan and Lee Hudson. New York: Henry Holt, 1998. ISBN: 0805036296.
Reference compendium including facts, reading lists, and useful tables from famous pseudonyms to gay detective novels. Covers both lesbian and gay male points of view.

Encyclopedia of Homosexuality by Wayne R. Dynes, Warren Johansson, William A. Percy, and Stephen Donaldson. New York: Garland, 1990. ISBN: 0824065441.
Includes topical entries on the historical, medical, psychological, and sociological aspects of homosexuality. Biographies exclude living people. Bibliography included.

Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America edited by Marc Stein. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2003. ISBN: 0684312611.
Provides a comprehensive survey of lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States. Includes 545 articles ranging from short biographical entries to longer essays, as well as a guide to archival sources, a chronology/time line, a historical overview essay and a comprehensive index.

Encyclopedia of Lesbian and Gay Histories and Cultures. 2 vols.
Lesbian Histories and Cultures. Vol. 1 edited by Bonnie Zimmerman. ISBN: 0815319207; Gay Histories and Cultures. Vol. 2 edited by George E. Haggerty, et al. New York: Garland, 2000. ISBN: 0815318804.
Each volume consists of brief entries arranged alphabetically. Brief bibliographies, subject guides, cross-references, and indexes help locate more information.

Historical Dictionary of the Gay Liberation Movement: Gay Men and the Quest for Social Justice by Ronald J. Hunt. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 1999. ISBN: 0810835878
Historical overview of the gay liberation movement.

St. James Press Gay & Lesbian Almanac edited by Neil Schlager. Detroit: St. James Press, 1998. ISBN: 1558623582.
Details gay and lesbian history, culture, and experience in 20th-century America.

JOURNAL TITLES
top

The Advocate. Los Angeles: Liberation, 1970– . Biweekly. ISSN: 00018996.
National gay and lesbian news magazine.

Journal of Homosexuality. New York: Haworth Press, 1974– . Quarterly. ISSN: 00918369.
Devoted to scholarly research on homosexuality, including sexual practices and gender roles and their cultural, historical, interpersonal, and modern social contexts.

LOCAL RESOURCES
top

 

 

 

WEB SITES

top

glbtq: gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, and queer culture
www.glbtq.com
This Web-based encyclopedia provides scholarly entries within the arts, literature, and social sciences. Researchers may browse or search to retrieve relevant information. Bibliographies and extensive citations are included with entries.

Out of the Past
www.pbs.org/outofthepast/
Documentary includes facets of our history that have been left out of the textbooks. Site continues the exploration begun by film of same title.

Stateline.org: 50-State Rundown on Gay Marriage Laws
http://www.stateline.org/stateline/?pa=story&sa=showStoryInfo&id=353058
The introductory paragraphs of this article provide an overview of recent changes in gay marriage laws. A state-by-state listing of the current law and legislative background follows.

ORGANIZATIONS

top

Gay and Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation
www.glaad.org
Promotes fair, accurate, and inclusive representation of people and events in the media as a means of eliminating homophobia and discrimination based on gender identity and sexual orientation.

Human Rights Campaign
www.hrcusa.org
Lobbies Congress, provides campaign support, and educates the public about issues including workplace, family, discrimination and health issues for gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender people.

Lambda Legal Defense and Education Fund
www.lambdalegal.org
Supports civil rights of lesbians, gay men, bisexuals, transgender people, and people with HIV or AIDS through litigation, education, and public policy.

The National Gay and Lesbian Task Force
www.ngltf.org
Supports civil rights of gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender people through political movement.

PFLAG (Parents and Friends of Lesbians and Gays)
www.pflag.org
PFLAG is a national nonprofit organization with over 200,000 members.

SUBJECT HEADINGS
top gay liberation movement—United States—periodicals
gay men—United States
homosexuality—dictionaries
homosexuality—encyclopedias
homosexuality—United States—periodicals
lesbianism—encyclopedias
lesbians—encyclopedias
lesbians—United States
transgender (transsexualism)
RELATED RESEARCH GUIDES
top

 

 

 



last updated:
http://www.