Book reviews provide summaries, criticism, and evaluations about published works. Reviews normally appear within a year of the date of publication. In addition to the general resources listed below, reviews can be found in specialized indexes such as Business Periodicals Index, Arts and Humanities Citation Index, and the Humanities Index. The terms and phrases listed in the subject headings below can be used to search for more materials in the library’s catalog and research databases. If you need further assistance, please ask a librarian. |
| top |
Book Review Digest. New York: H. W. Wilson, 1905– . Monthly. ISSN: 00067326.
Indexes reviews appearing in general interest periodicals of the Anglo-American world. Arranged alphabetically by author of the book, with indexes by title and subject.
Book Review Index. Detroit: Gale Research, 1965– . Three times a year. ISSN: 05240581.
Provides access to reviews of books, periodicals, books on tape, and electronic media representing a wide range of popular, academic and professional interests. More than 600 publications are indexed, including journals and national general interest publications and newspapers.
Children’s Book Review Index. Detroit: Gale Research, 1975– . Three times a year. ISSN: 01475681.
Contains reviews of books, periodicals, books on tape, and electronic media intended and recommended for children through age 10.
Children’s Literature Review. Detroit: Gale Research, 1976– . Semiannual. ISSN: 03624145.
Excerpts from reviews, criticism, and commentary on books for children and young people. There are cumulative indexes to authors and titles in each volume.
Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Humanities Journals, 1802–1974. 10 vols. Woodbridge, CT: Research, 1982–1984. ISBN: 089235061X; Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Scholarly Journals, 1886–1974. 15 vols. Arlington, VA: Carrollton Press, 1979–1982. ISBN: 084080167X.
Both indexes are arranged alphabetically by author of the book and include title indexes.
Críticas: An English Speaker’s Guide to the Latest Spanish Language Titles. New York: Reed Business Information, 2001– . Bimonthly. ISSN: 15356132.
Published by Publishers Weekly, Library Journal and School Library Journal. Reviews for bookstores, libraries, and publishers.
Index to Book Reviews in the Humanities. Williamston, MI: Thomson, 1960–1990. Annual. ISSN: 00735892.
Indexes scholarly journals from North America and Britain. Arranged alphabetically by author.
|
top |
Amazon.com
www.amazon.com
Online bookstore that many times includes reviews from Publishers Weekly, Library Journal and Library School Journal.
Bookreporter
www.bookreporter.com
Includes book reviews, author profiles and interviews, excerpts, literary games and contests.
Guardian Unlimited Books: Top 10s
http://books.guardian.co.uk
Reviews of contemporary titles.
H-Net Reviews
www2.h-net.msu.edu/reviews
Reviews from the humanities and social sciences.
London Review of Books
www.lrb.co.uk
London Review of Books features an extensive, full-text archive.
The New York Review of Books
http://nybooks.com/nyrev
Contains select full-text articles.
The New York Times on the Web: Books
www.nytimes.com/books
Includes current reviews, booklists, and a searchable database from 1980.
Salon.com: Books
www.salon.com/books/index.html
Includes daily book reviews, interviews, and a weekly list of author recommendations.
Village Voice Literary Supplement
www.villagevoice.com/vls/
Back issues from October 1998.
|